Facts and Figures

Country name Conventional Long Form: Republic of Zimbabwe

Conventional Short Form: Zimbabwe

Government Type: Parliamentary Democracy

Capital: Harare

Administrative Divisions: 8 provinces and 2 cities* with provincial status; Bulawayo*, Harare*, Manicaland, Mashonaland Central, Mashonaland East, Mashonaland West, Masvingo, Matabeleland North, Matabeleland South and Midlands.

Independence: 18 April 1980

National Day: 18 April

Legal System: Mixture of Roman –Dutch and English Common Law

Suffrage: 18 years of age, universal

Executive Branch: Chief of State

Executive President H.E Cde. E.D Mnangagwa (since 24 November 2017); The President is both the chief of State and head of Government.

The President appoints Co-Vice Presidents and the Cabinet

Co-Vice Presidents since 28 December 2017

(1) Rtd. Gen. Constantino Guveya Dominic Nyikadzino Chiwenga (he is also the Minister of Defence, Security and War Veterans)

(2) Cde. Kembo C.D Mohadi (he is also the Minister of National Peace and Reconciliation).


Cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the President.

Elections: Presidential candidates nominated with a nomination paper signed by at least 10 registered voters (at least one from each province) and elected by popular vote for a 5-year term.

Legislative Branch

Bicameral Parliament

(1) The Senate

  • 66 elected members from the 60 Senatorial Constituencies (6 from each of the 10 provinces).
  • 5 members appointed by the State President.
  • 16 Chiefs elected from the Chief's electoral colleges, 2 from each of the eight rural provinces.
  • The President and Deputy President of the National Chiefs Council elected by the National Council of Chiefs.

(2) The House of Assembly

  • 210 members from the 210 House of Assembly Constituencies.

The Attorney General sits in both houses as an ex-officio member.

Judicial Branch: Supreme Court; High Court

Political Parties

Zimbabwe is a multiparty democracy and is home to tens of political parties.